Ramblings of a guy who went to Nigeria

First of all apologies for not posting anything in a while. I have this annoying thing called a dissertation to write. It should be over soon. I know what you are thinking. If you have a dissertation to write then why did you go to Nigeria? It’s a long story but bottom line is I had to go. But anyway…

I went to Nigeria. Did a decent amount of traveling in Nigeria too. Over the next few days I will write up my thoughts on many things I observed. Some good, others not so good.

First things first, the power situation has not improved. Or rather I should say the power situation in the place where I lived and the places I visited has not improved. While in Jos I heard there was light between 11pm and 4am most nights.  Generators were still the order of the day. Makes me wonder what all the “power has improved” gist was all about. Of course this isn’t a good way to measure improvements in electricity supply. It may really have improved for others. More information is needed.

Secondly, the culture of settling is definitely back. Everyone from the airline staff to the customs guys to the guy whose job is to put the luggage on the thing seemed to ask for something for the boys. Maybe it was just the time of the year. Or maybe everyone has realized that “taxing people” is OK. I don’t know.

That’s it for now. More to come.

 

One thought on “Ramblings of a guy who went to Nigeria

  1. Lol Nigerians have the settling culture ingrained in their blood. You can’t blame our people, there is an almost non-existent dignity of labour. The power situation has not improved anywhere

Leave a Reply

